41 Comments
Jun 21, 2022Liked by Ashley Adamant

I am making your strawberry pie filling and it says to have 1 1/2” headspace in the quarter jar. I’m doing mine in pints and the bubble reminded ver and measuring device only goes to 1”z

What do I do?

Expand full comment

Ashley do I add tannin or raisins to the dandelion mead? It was not in your list of ingredients but was mentioned in the end of the wine making process.

Expand full comment

Thank you, that was good info, going to try it. I have a space in my fenced in garden that gets lots of shade, what can I grow there? Kay

Expand full comment

Hi Ashley, I'm in zone 4 and want to grow artichokes. I bought 3 Imperial Star plants. Wondering if I should pot them up, move to garage for the winter or plant directly in the ground, dig up the roots, pot, keep in the garage and then replant in the Spring? Also, where do you buy your canning jars? Kay

Expand full comment

Hi Ashley! Thank you so much for the wealth of knowledge you share. I always learn so much from reading your posts. I’m looking for advice around growing a serviceberry from a small (1 ft ish) bare root seedling. I got two via Arbor Day Foundation from an Earth Day event. The paper it came with says to keep them in a container for the first year, and I’ve done that. I’m in zone 6b. Wondering if I should keep them inside for the winter/after the first hard frost? Right now we’re putting them out in the sun during the day and bringing inside at night until maybe early June when they’ll stay out 24/7. Partially I’m trying to decide on its location and fencing situation and how the winter plan would impact those choices. Thank you!

Expand full comment

Where do you buy your ball jars? Also, having trouble getting here... What is the Url I go to to get here?

Expand full comment

Hi Ashley: Thank you for being here for us. Jjust wondering if you've grown pumpkins in the North that makes good pumpkin puree for canning? Going to be growing 3 sisters this year for the first time, have my corn seed and pole bean seed but looking for pumpkin now. Thanks!

Expand full comment

I’m about to be trying my hand at some dandelion wine. Do you have a tried and true recipe?

Expand full comment

Hi Ashley! Awesome to be here with you on your new Substack.

I recently made your fermented honey garlic recipe. Wondering what you used the garlic in/for after the fermentation took place. Also, did you use the garlicky honey for anything special?

Thanks!

Expand full comment

Dear Ashley,

Thank you so much for your amazing blog! I have tried persimmon jam recipe (modified a bit) and it turned out very well.

I am planning to make more jams and preserves. Do you think I can reuse lids? I grew up in Europe and my family always reused lids when making jam. However, I noticed that in the US people do not reuse lids.

I have sent a picture of the lids (because I do not know what is the word in English for that kind of lid).

Thank you 🙏 so much for your time and advice! Looking forward to hearing from you.

Expand full comment